(800) 337-4002 call for your free consultation

How to Report a Car Accident in Lexington, KY

June 15, 2020

Car accidents usually happen without warning, and they can lead to victims sustaining severe injuries as well as extensive property damage. Car crashes can be confusing, and victims often do not know how to report a car accident in Lexington, Kentucky. Here, we want to discuss the importance of reporting a car accident and the steps you can take to ensure the report is done correctly. You may need assistance from a qualified Lexington car accident attorney to help you secure compensation for your claim.

When Does a Car Accident Report Need to Be Filed?

It is important to understand that nearly every car accident that occurs will need to be reported to the local police department or the Kentucky State Police. Under Kentucky Revised Statutes, Title XVI Motor Vehicles § 189.635, car accidents must be reported if they result in any of the following:

  • Death of anyone involved
  • Injury to anyone involved
  • Property damage exceeding $500

Any accident that meets these conditions also requires that an accident report or the Civilian Collision Report Form be filed with the Kentucky State Police within 10 days of the incident occurring.

What Needs to Be Included in These Reports?

At minimum, the Civilian Collisions Report Form will need to include the following:

  • Name, address, and phone number of all individuals involved in the accident
  • License number and birthday of all drivers involved
  • The make, model, and a year of all the vehicles involved
  • License plate numbers and registration information for all vehicles involved
  • Estimated cost of repairs for vehicle damage
  • The insurance information of other drivers involved in the accident
  • Information pertaining to any non-vehicle property damage
  • The time and location of the accident
  • Weather, road, light, and traffic conditions at the time of the accident

A completed Civilian Collisions Report Form can be mailed to the following address within 10 days of the accident occurring:

Kentucky State Police

Records Branch,

1250 Louisville Road,

Frankfort, KY 40601

Failure to file one of these forms is punishable by a fine ranging from $20 to $100. However, failing to file a report could also result in significant problems with your insurance carrier and result in you not recovering any compensation for your losses. It is important to understand that Kentucky is considered a “no-fault” accident state in which drivers recover compensation for their medical bills and lost wages from their own insurance carriers. The police report and the Civilian Collisions Report are the starting place for the insurance carrier determining how much compensation they will provide.

What Kind of Compensation Is Available?

If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident caused by the negligence of another person, you may be entitled to significant compensation. After correctly reporting the accident and working with insurance carriers, you may be able to obtain the following:

  • Coverage of your medical bills related to the crash
  • Lost wages and benefits if you cannot work
  • Pain and suffering damages
  • Loss of personal enjoyment damages
  • Possible punitive damages against a negligent driver

Please understand that these cases can become complicated, particularly when proving liability. You may need assistance from a skilled Lexington car accident lawyer to help you with your case.

Gary C. Johnson, P.S.C. is fully operational and available 24/7 to assist with your case. Our firm has the technology required to work your claim while maintaining all social distancing guidelines to ensure your safety. Our firm is committed to you and we are also available to meet at your location while practicing proper social distancing. Call #HURT from your cell phone or toll free 1-866-268-4200