(866) 984-0113 call for your free personal
injury case consultation
Click for your free personal injury consultation
Click for your free personal injury consultation

What types of paralysis can result from spinal cord injuries?

February 15, 2018

A spinal cord injury can be one of the most devastating types of harm that a Kentucky resident can suffer. This is because damage to the spinal cord and spinal column can result in paralysis. Paralysis occurs when a person cannot use their muscles to move their bodies, which can limit the motility as well as the functioning of their organs and other bodily systems.

There are two general types of paralysis that a person may suffer as a result of a catastrophic event. The first form of paralysis is paraplegia. If a person suffers from paraplegia, then they will have paralysis in their lower body and it can affect their legs, lower torso and internal systems.

The second type of paralysis that a person may suffer is quadriplegia. Quadriplegia affects a victim’s body from the neck down. As a result, a victim may not be able to move their arms, legs, torso or have normal functioning of their internal bodily systems.

Both paraplegia and quadriplegia can be devastating to the victims. Living with these often irreversible conditions can be damaging to the victim’s emotional health as well. The costs of living with paralysis and the toll that the condition may force upon a victim can result in a very difficult existence for a person who is unlucky enough to experience it.

When a catastrophic injury results from a negligence-based accident, a victim may have rights. Those rights may allow them to sue for compensation. That compensation may be a necessary part of a victim receiving the support they need to move forward after suffering the blow of paralysis.

Source: healthline.com, “Paralysis,” accessed February 6, 2018