(800) 337-4002 call for your free consultation

Consequences of Driving Without Car Insurance in Kentucky

July 22, 2020

Most people understand that they need to have insurance before they can drive legally on the roadways in Kentucky. Not only is auto insurance required, but it is your protection. Kentucky is what is known as a choice “no-fault” car insurance state. For drivers who choose no-fault insurance, they will turn to their own insurance carrier to cover their medical bills regardless of who is at fault for the crash. However, these drivers will not be able to file a lawsuit for any pain and suffering damages. Drivers can opt-out of the no-fault system and choose a traditional insurance type of coverage, and they will retain the right to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.

However, drivers who choose to operate without insurance could end up in serious trouble. Not only will they have no protection in the event a crash occurs, but they could face legal consequences.

What Are the Kentucky Car Insurance Minimums?

In Kentucky, drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage if they use the no-fault system. Aside from the PIP coverage, the state requires drivers to carry the following minimum liability coverage:

  • $25,000 for injuries per person in an accident you cause
  • $50,000 total for all injuries in an accident you cause
  • $10,000 for property damage resulting from an accident you cause

Kentucky Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

There are two ways that the state of Kentucky will find out whether a driver has insurance or not. First, if you are pulled over by law enforcement, they will ask for proof of insurance. Second, if your insurance lapses, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet’s monitoring body will be notified. The penalties for a first offense of driving without insurance include the following:

  • A fine ranging from $500 to $1,000
  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • Registration suspension for one year or until proof of insurance is submitted
  • $40 fee for registration reinstatement in addition to court fines

For those who receive a second or subsequent driving without insurance offense, the following penalties will apply:

  • A fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,500
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Registration suspension one to two years (two years for every offense after the second)
  • $40 fee for registration reinstatement in addition to court fines and requirement to re-take driving exam is license suspension is over one year

In many states, drivers who have their driver’s license suspended are required to obtain SR-22 filing for their insurance before their license can be reinstated. That is not a requirement in Kentucky.

Getting Into an Accident

If you get into an accident and do not have insurance, you are going to be on the line for the expenses. You will not have any coverage if you are injured due to another driver’s actions if the at-fault driver has no-fault coverage. If you cause a crash and have no insurance, you will be on the line for the expenses of the other driver and their passengers, which could be a significant amount of they have opted out of no-fault coverage.

If you’ve been injured by a driver with no insurance, speak with a Lexington car accident lawyer today for a free case evaluation.

Gary C. Johnson, P.S.C. is fully operational and available 24/7 to assist with your case. Our firm has the technology required to work your claim while maintaining all social distancing guidelines to ensure your safety. Our firm is committed to you and we are also available to meet at your location while practicing proper social distancing. Call #HURT from your cell phone or toll free 1-866-268-4200